Young Rebel Set – The Borderline – 20th October 2010

So I went to see Young Rebel Set at the Borderline during the week. If you don’t really care for my live reviews, know this, they were rather good. If you do enjoy my live reviews….

….then you’ve now found yourself in the right place, and may I also take this opportunity to compliment you on your live music reviewing tastes. YRS put on a great show, their songs have a rousing pissed up quality that reminds me of The Pogues, and The Dubliners. Well I did grow up in Ireland, I’m pretty sure my dad would particularly love them.

The one thing though that brings them down is the fuckin’ mandolin. I hate mandolin’s. I was listening to Primal Scream’s Country Girl yesterday morning, it had been ages since I heard it, and was really enjoying it, and then I remembered it had a mandolin solo, and well it actually made me want to get up. Anyway I’m beginning to stray.

The Young Rebel Set have an album out soon, and on the strength of this performance, it’ll be rather good. Tracks that really stood out for me were Fall Hard, Won’t Get Up Again and set closer Walk On. If you see them playing in your town, go along. Get pissed on poitin beforehand too, for that authentic Gaelic experience haha.


Related Posts



Leave a comment